50 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Textured

  1. I find native hand made materials beautiful and timeless. Wicker, rattan, abaca fibers are my favorite. There’s a town in my province that plants and manufactures wickers. A lot of them women who tries to help their husbands. The story reminded me of my mom. She was an arrange marriage but my dad courted her after and swept her off her feet. They love each other till this day. I know that it does not happen for all. Great post/photo.

    • Hi Island! What a warm loving story you can tell about your parents. You’re right. That kind of love doesn’t happen for many of us, unfortunately. I’m glad you enjoyed the photo. Wicker and rattan are my favorites, also. Will have to check the abaca fibers out. Not familiar with that one. Thanks for your visit. Blessings! 🙂

  2. beautiful basket details. i just bought a handwoven basket at a local market the other day. there is something about the quality of workmanship, knowing there was someone else in another time at another place creating something beautiful and practical for an individual they will never meet. it is amazing how our lives touch others in some of the most ordinary ways.
     
    thanks for sharing. and thank you also for stopping by my blog and leaving such a warm comment. much appreciated.

    • Hi pix and kardz. Thank you for sharing your warm thoughts. I totally agree with how our lives touch others in ordinary ways. However, I’m guilty of being so consumed with a product that I fail to take time to acknowledge the hands that made it. Will challenge myself to change. About visiting your blog, you’re welcome. I really enjoyed your beautiful photos. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Textured « Flickr Comments by FrizzText

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Textured Self Portraits « Private Mixture

    • Glad you like the photo, Gilly. You have some beautiful photos, as well. I didn’t see the basket. Are you using it? Would love to see it. Thanks for stopping in and sharing your thoughts. 🙂

    • Hi mellifluousmurmurs! Glad you found some inspiration in my post. I find Fleming’s statement meaningful, as well. Thank you for coming in and sharing your thoughts. Appreciate it. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Texture III | melonpopzdropz …

  6. Pingback: [A tribute: shared images from the past] « 3rdculturechildren

  7. Very nice photo. I love baskets and wicker. I would love to start a collection and even learn how to make my own one day.

    • Hi NeeNee! I hope that you will be able to start a collection one day soon. Maybe you could check at your local school to see if they offer craft classes. I’m sure you would be good at it. You seem to have the passion for it. Would love to see your work. I’m glad you stopped in. Appreciate you sharing your thoughts. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Textured « Mike Hardisty Photography

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Texture IV | melonpopzdropz …

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Textured | this man's journey

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Textured | Stories of My Wandering Feet & Mind

  12. Pingback: Doku: Weekly Photo Challenge (Texture) « aNTibaKTeRiYeL

  13. Pingback: weekly photo challenge: textured | Maggies Photography

  14. Pingback: 15 SEPTEMBER 2011 : ESTAP : BRICKS AND STONES « 2011 – ON THE BENCH

  15. you captured the texture perfectly. great photo. great talent.

    I was a child in the fifties and can identify with Anne’s words. There were so many expectations and little choices in those days. Thank you I also was young in the late 60’s early 70’s when womens rights were explored and celebrated. It was exciting times.

    • Hi Maggie. Thank you so much for the kind comments. Glad you like the photo. 🙂
      I grew up around the same time period – and agree with your reflection. Greatly appreciate you sharing your thoughts. 🙂

Any thoughts? Was this helpful? Got an opinion? Do share.

