6 comments on “Who Else Wants to Thank a Mother?

  1. My grandmother passed away when I was a teenager. Unfortunately, I didn’t talk to her and ask her questions about her upbringing and my family history. At that age it didn’t really cross my mind. Now that I am older, I wish I had.
    I am thankful for my mother, who is a patient and kind woman. She has shared a lot about her past and upbringing which I am thankful for. I gave her a memory book last Christmas and I hope she is writing in it. I should probably get one for myself.

    • I’m sorry about your grandmother, NeeNee. When we’re young we don’t think along those lines unless we have a family member that is passionate about perserving its history. Thankfully, you have a warm relationship with your mother. Blessings to you and yours. 🙂

  2. I’m glad you had a second chance. Sometimes we can no longer go back but we can make the most of what we have now. I was close to my mom, but when I migrated to the U.S. It was never the same. My regret is I’m no longer physically near her and my son does not know her that well. This is one reason I long to go back. Thanks for sharing. It’s a touching story.

    • Thank you so much for your warm comment about my second chance, Island. I totally agree that it is important to appreciate what we have now and make the most and best of it. I can see from your blog how much you enjoy being with your son. Hopefully, the day will come when he can spend all the time he desires with his grandmother. I started using Skype with my granddaughter a few weeks ago. It was great seeing her since I’m a long distance grandmother, too. Maybe it’s something you could use too. Blessings always to you and yours. 🙂

  3. I had been estranged from my mother for a few years after discovering something she had done which was extremely hurtful to me. It took two years for me to rise above the situation. I flew out to visit her for a full week, I cooked real, homemade dinners and froze them for her. We did not converse much, simply because my mother was of the generation that kept things to oneself. There’s just never enough time.

    • Hi grannydog. I have to admit that your comments brought tears to my eyes. It is sad when we’re in a relationship and it sometimes seems one-sided. I can understand the generational thing. I wonder it has anything to do with our personalities? I have the tendency to keep my feelings hidden. It’s something that I work on daily. I commend you for doing something positive for your relationship with your mother. I’m sure she appreciated it. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your story. Blessings of peace, love and joy to you and yours. 🙂

Any thoughts? Was this helpful? Got an opinion? Do share.

