5 comments on “I Suffered, You Don’t Have To

  1. I am so sorry to hear that you had shingles. Have you fully recovered? My mother had shingles and it was hard for me to watch her go through so much pain. Thankfully she is all better now. I hope this helps a lot of people avoid this horrible condition. Thanks for sharing.

    • Hi NeeNee, yes, I’m much better, thank you. From time to time, I will have an itch on my back but it’s nothing compared to what it was before. One of the side effects of phn is numbness in the area due to nerve endings being damaged so I will scratch but don’t know how hard I’m scratching.
      I’m so glad you and your mother made it through that ordeal. You are right. It is also important to note what family members and caregivers go through. It is very difficult. She is blessed to have you. I hope others will benefit from this too.
      Thank you for coming in.

  2. My favorite was Magilla Gorilla πŸ™‚ I don’t know much about Shingles, but I get the whole “pain” thing. How horrible to be ok one day and for your life to suddenly be consumed with pain the next (and the next and the next…). Glad you’re on the other side of it now!

    I admire your desire to help others after going through such a difficult experience – AND I appreciate your practical advice, since I am nearing the “50-59” range in a couple of years, myself.

    Thank you for your lovely comment on my blog – your words were very wise and kind,
    Debi

    P.S. I, too, was not allowed to sleep late and had lots-o-chores every Saturday! My kids’ jaws drop when they hear my stories, “You had to do WHAT??”

    • Hi Debi, I really liked Magilla Gorilla too. I have so many favorites. I could never sit down and look at just one cartoon. My love for them goes back to Ruff and Reddy and Beany and Cecil, remember – “Help, Cecil! Help!” and “I’m a-coming Beany-boy!” Yeah, I’m an old bird. LOL

      Thank you for your kind words and I’m glad I could offer you some advice on shingles and hopefully a few words of encouragement to what you’re going thru. I often told my family when describing shingles, “I’m taking it for the team” since it hits 1 out of 2 people living to the age of 85, according to Merck – http://www.shinglesinfo.com/what-is-shingles.html. I hope one day soon you will start living on the pain-free side of life.

      And, yes, I can relate to the chores stories, as well. Isn’t that funny? But of course, it wasn’t at the time. πŸ™‚
      Thanks for coming in…

  3. Pingback: What happened in 2010 that you’d rather not repeat? « CHANGEversations

Any thoughts? Was this helpful? Got an opinion? Do share.